Please visit for event info
20 South Main Street     Inman, SC 29349 864.472.6200 Email Us

Mayor & City Council

Inman City Council

Proud to Serve the City of Inman

In 1882, the South Carolina General Assembly incorporated the Town of Inman. Our name changed to the "City of Inman" in 1979.

The mayor and four councilmembers make up the City Council. Each city councilmember is elected at-large to four-year terms. The mayor is also elected to four-year terms. City elections are staggered so that roughly half of the City Councilmembers are up for re-election each election cycle. In 2017, the City Council adopted an ordinance changing the date for general elections to Election Day in odd-numbered years.

The City of Inman operates under the council form of government. That means the City Council works as a collegial body where each member of the City Council has equal influence over how the city is governed. The City Council hires a full-time City Administrator to coordinate the day-to-day activities of the City.

The mayor presides over City Council meetings, represents the City at ceremonial events, and signs documents on behalf of the City Council. In addition, the City Council elects one of its members to serve as mayor pro tempore for a two-year term. The mayor pro tempore acts as the mayor in the mayor's absence.

The City Council holds its regular meetings at City Hall on the second Monday of every month. The meetings start at 6:00 pm.
A Place to Live. A Place to Love.